Top header graphic with link to CSUS Home Page california state university, sacramento
Header Graphic
sac state homeuniversity affairspublic affairs

   search CSUS

   main news page

media resources graphic
   news releases
   news and events

   fact & stats
   experts guide
   news by e-mail
   contact news
     services staff

publications graphic
   Capital University

   CSUS Bulletin
   CSUS Catalog
   Viewbook (pdf)
   How-to Guide (pdf)

calendars graphic
   events this month
   search events

people graphic

   new faces
   in the news

   in memoriam

additional news graphic
   Capital Public Radio
   alumni association
   crime alerts
   CSU system
   CSU campuses

visitors resources graphic
   ceremonies and     
     visitor relations

   CSUS ticket office
   campus directory
   campus tours

contact us graphic
   news services
     staff directory

   submit news
     & events



October 10, 2002

Trustees announce details on presidential search

The California State University Board of Trustees has begun the process of selecting a successor for CSUS President Donald R. Gerth.

President Gerth, the longest serving president in CSUS history, announced in August that he will retire after this academic year. He plans to write and teach in the CSUS public policy and administration department, where he is a member of the faculty.

The new president is expected to be named in March.
President Gerth began serving as president at CSUS in 1984. He has 45 years of total service in the CSU system, including eight years as president of CSU Dominguez Hills. He also served 12 years in academic and administrative positions at CSU Chico and a year at the CSU Chancellor's Office.

Gerth began his service in the CSU system in 1958 as a faculty member at San Francisco State University.

Under the Trustees' presidential selection policy, adopted in 1997, the chair of the board establishes a five-person Trustees' Committee for the Selection of the President, which is composed of the chair of the board, the Chancellor and three trustees.

Trustee Bill Hauck has been selected committee chair. The two other trustees on the committee are William "Denny" Campbell and Martha Walda. Trustees' Chair Debra Farar and CSU Chancellor Charles B. Reed are the other two members.

Board policy also requires the chair to appoint an advisory group to the Trustees' search committee. The Advisory Committee to the Trustees' Committee for the Selection of the President is composed of representatives of the faculty, staff, students and alumni, as well as a member of the campus advisory board, all of whom are selected by the campus. Also on the advisory committee are a vice president or academic dean from the campus, and a president of another CSU campus selected by the Chancellor.

The members of the Sacramento advisory committee have not yet been named.
President Gerth is one of three CSU presidents to announce their retirement this fall. Cal Poly Pomona President Bob Suzuki and CSU Chico President Manuel Esteban are also retiring. Among them, they will have served the CSU system an extraordinary 83 years.

For the latest information about the presidential search, visit The CSU presidential search policy is at


Bottom bar graphic back to top

California State University, Sacramento • Public Affairs
6000 J Street • Sacramento, CA 95819-6026 • (916) 278-6156 •