Return to Public Affairs Main Page
Media Resources
Visitor Services
Contact Us
Return to CSUS Homepage  
Public Affairs   
(916) 278-6156   

November 14, 2001

Masterpieces surface with Sun Quartet at CSUS

Darker and richer than most works in C major, Mozart's Quintet is among the most strikingly expressive of his later works and the California State University, Sacramento's Sun Quartet will present their take on Mozart's classic at 8 p.m., Monday, Nov. 19. The concert takes place in Capistrano Hall 151.

"What's unique about this masterpiece is that is basically a string quartet written with the addition of a viola," says Andrew Luchansky, CSUS professor and Sun Quartet cellist. The added viola broadens the texture of Mozart's piece. It augments rushing scale passages that accompany typically quiet dialogues in quartet composition techniques to create dramatic music moments.

At the concert, the Sun Quartet will also play Debussy's Quartet in G minor. This is the only string quartet Debussy ever wrote and is considered by many to be masterpiece.

"It's a beautiful impressionist piece and at the same time it's very romantic. It also has some jazzy elements. It's a very monumental piece and we have been having a ball with it," says Luchansky.

Contributing to all the fun is the newest Sun quartet member, internationally recognized violinist Ian Swensen.

"I feel like the Sun Quartet is at a new level. People who have heard our rehearsals are giving us rave reviews. At this concert we also have a special guest artist Ben Simon, so it's exciting," says Luchansky.

Tickets for the concert are $6 general and $4 for students and seniors. Tickets are available at the CSUS Ticket Office at (916) 278-4323. Media assistance is available by contacting CSUS public affairs at (916) 278-6156.


For further information send E-Mail to or contact
Public Affairs (916) 278-6156.   
Index of Stories
University SealReturn to CSUS Home Page