Return to Public Affairs Main Page
Media Resources
Visitor Services
Contact Us
Return to CSUS Homepage  
Public Affairs   
(916) 278-6156   

December 12, 2000

CSUS Appoints Art Advisory Committee

The School of the Arts at California State University, Sacramento is sketching the framework for its future with the creation of a new advisory committee.

The committee’s goal is to provide guidance for School of the Arts community involvement, outreach, promotional plans and program development.

The School of the Arts was formed in spring 2000 and includes the departments of art, design, music, and theatre and dance. More than 100 professors are involved in the instruction and development of some 800 majors studying in the four departments.

"We hope we will gain some perspective from the committee that will assist us in developing a leadership role in the arts through a constant exchange of information," said Rollin Potter, director of the School of the Arts.

Members of the committee include professionals from the local arts and business communities.

"As far as art advocates, the committee members are probably the most visible and respected people in the city. It’s a very prestigious group of people," Potter said.

The members are:

Leland Ball, executive, California Musical Theatre
Cameron Cobden, research assistant, District Attorney’s office 
Michael Flynn, dentist, private practice 
Marcy Friedman, arts advocate, Crocker Art Museum 
Julia Jenness, attorney, Downey, Brand, Seymour and Rohwer 
Muriel Johnson, County Supervisor, Sacramento County 
K.D. Kurutz, educator, California Consortium for Arts Education 
Mimi Miller, arts advocate 
Sue Noack, co-chair, California State Library Foundation
Lynn Pomeroy, architect, LPA Sacramento 
Anne Rudin, former Sacramento mayor 
Fred Teichert, foundation director, Teichert Foundation
Rollin Potter, director, CSUS School of the Arts

The committee plans to meet four times a year. The first meeting was held Dec. 10 at the Julia Morgan House, located at 3731 T Street.  At this meeting, Anne Rudin was elected to serve as chair of the committee and topics discussed included academic program qualities as well as plans for development and growth.

For more information about the School of the Arts call (916) 278-2787. For media assistance contact the CSUS public affairs office at (916) 278-6156.



For further information send E-Mail to or contact
Public Affairs at (916) 278-6156.   
Index of Stories
Return to CSUS Home Page