Bachelor of Arts in Physics

A Bachelor of Arts (BA) in physics is designed to be a flexible, liberal arts degree for those planning on teaching, technician, or industrial careers. The fact that it requires fewer units to degree allows students to more easily obtain a minor. For those who are considering a career in secondary education, we are developing a Teaching Preparation Concentration within our BA degree program.

The lower and upper division courses required for a BA in physics are:

Lower Division (37 Units) 

MATH 30, 31, 32, (Calculus I, II, & III)
MATH 45 (Differential Equations)
CHEM 1A, 1B (General Chemistry I & II)
PHYS 11A, 11B, 11C (General Physics I, II, & III)

Upper Division (28 - 29 Units) 

PHYS 105 or MATH 105A (Mathematical Methods)
PHYS 106 (Intro to Modern Physics)
PHYS 110 (Classical Mechanics)
PHYS 115 (Electronics and Instrumentation) or PHYS 145 (Optics)
PHYS 124 (Thermodynamics)
PHYS 135 (Electricity and Magnetism)
PHYS 175 (Advanced Physics Laboratory) 
Physics Elective (8 unit minimum)

We offer elective courses in electronics, optics, acoustics, solid state physics, quantum mechanics, and computational physics.

For University degree requirements, please see the Baccalaureate Degree Requirements page of the University Catalog.

For more details on the program, please see our Program Flier or the University Catalog.