Department Chair


Rebecca CAMERON, Ph.D. (Kent State University)

Dr. Rebecca Cameron


Available by appointment only. Please contact the Department Office at 916-278-6254 for assistance.

Summer 2019: No office hours.

Faculty/Major Advisors

Faculty/Advisor

Contact Information and Office Hours

Field and Research Interests

Phillip AKUTSU, Ph.D. (UCLA)

Dr. Phillip Akutsu

Office: AMD 351D

Office hours:

E-mail: akutsu@csus.edu

Phone: 916-278-6364

Field: Clinical Psychology

Research Interests: Racial and cultural factors in psychology, Help-seeking attitudes and behaviors, Mental health service utilization and delivery, Racial prejudice and discrimination, Asian American psychology

 Rachel AUGUST, Ph.D. (The Claremont Graduate School)

Dr. Rachel August

Office: AMD 364A

Office hours:

E-mail: raugust@csus.edu

Phone: 916-278-6814

Field:  Industrial/Organizational Psychology

Research Interests: College Student-Athlete Career Development, Career Transitions, Organizational Socialization, Older Workers, Women Workers, Workplace Diversity

Lee BERRIGAN, Ph.D. (Washington University, St. Louis)

Dr. Lee Berrigan

Office: AMD 551A

Office hours:

Email: berrigan@csus.edu

Phone: 916-278-7364

Field: Clinical Psychology

Research Interests: Process and Outcome in Psychotherapy, Psychological Assessment, Personality Development and Change, Clinical and Experimental Aspects of Hypnosis

Lisa BOHON, Ph.D. (UC Riverside)

Dr. Lisa Bohon

Office: AMD 361D

Office hours:

E-mail: bohonlm@csus.edu

Phone: 916-278-6240

Field: Social Psychology

Research Interests: Social Cognition, Person Perception, Evolutionary Psychology, Mate Selection

Denys BRAND, Ph.D. (Univ. of Auckland, New Zealand)

Dr. Denys Brand

Office: AMD 361D

Office hours: 

E-mail: denys.brand@csus.edu

Phone: 916-278-6944

Field: Applied Behavior Analysis

Research Interests: Performance feedback, performance management, sequential analysis, procedural integrity, three-alternative choice.

Website: Performance Improvement Lab

Jeffrey CALTON, Ph.D. (Univ. of Missouri)

Dr. Jeffrey Calton

Office: AMD 363B

Office hours:

E-mail: calton@csus.edu

Phone: 916-278-5607

Field: Behavioral Neuroscience

Research Interests: Spatial Cognition, Animal Navigation, Behavioral Neuroscience, Physiology of Learning, Animal Cognition

Erin Rose ELLISON, Ph.D. (UC Santa Cruz)

Dr. Erin Ellison

Office: AMD 351B

Office hours: 

E-mail: ellison@csus.edu

Phone: 916-278-7591

Field: Community Psychology

Research Interests: Social-community psychology; Relational empowerment, collective action, transformative justice, youth and community development; Community-university relations; Participatory Action Research, Social Network Analysis.

 

Sharon FLICKER, Ph.D. (Univ. of New Mexico)

Dr. Sharon Flicker

Office: AMD 353B

Office hours:

E-mail: flicker@csus.edu

Phone: 916-278-5605

Field: Clinical Psychology

Research Interests: Romantic relationships; Family relationships; Arranged Marriage; Consensual Non-Monogamy; Asexuality; Forgiveness.

Website: Flicker Research Lab

Sharon FURTAK, Ph.D. (Yale University)

Dr. Sharon Furtak-Nguyen

On Sabbatical Spring 2019

Office: AMD 357A

Office hours:

E-mail: furtak@csus.edu

Phone: 916-278-6666

Field: Behavioral Neuroscience

Research Interests: Behavioral Neuroscience, Human and rodent models of emotional learning and memory, Neurobiology of fear learning to cues and contexts.

Website: Dr. Furtak's Website

Lisa HARRISON, Ph.D. (Univ. of Nebraska)

Dr. Lisa Harrison

Office: AMD 361B

Office hours:

E-mail: laharrison@csus.edu

Phone: 916-278-6815

Field: Social Psychology

Research Interests: Implicit Attitudes and Nonconscious Biases; Prejudice and Stereotyping; Gender; Feminist Psychology

Website: Dr. Harrison's Website

Megan HEINICKE, Ph.D. (Auburn University)

Dr. Megan Heinicke

Office: AMD 357D

Office hours:

E-mail: megan.heinicke@csus.edu

Phone: 916-278-7592

Field: Applied Behavior Analysis (ABA)

Research Interests: ABA, Stimulus Preference Assessments, Acquired Brain Injury Rehabilitation, Developmental Disabilities, Verbal Behavior, Teaching of Behavior Analysis

Research Lab Website: Heinicke Research Lab

Gregory HURTZ, Ph.D. (University at Albany, State University of New York)

Dr. Greg Hurtz

Office: AMD 364B

Office hours:

E-mail: ghurtz@csus.edu

Phone: 916-278-7593

Field: Industrial/Organizational, Quantitative Psychology

Research Interests: Employment Testing, Psychometric Theory and Methods, Applications of Item Response Theory and Rasch Measurement, Statistical Methods, Monte Carlo Analysis

Research Lab Website: Hurtz Lab

Gregory KIM-JU, Ph.D. (Boston College)

Dr. Greg Kim-Ju

Office: AMD 351A

Office hours: 

E-mail: kimju@csus.edu

Phone: 916-278-6738

Field: Cultural Psychology

Research Interests: Community-based Research and Intervention Programs, Collective Identities, Diversity and Perceptions of Race and Ethnicity, Diaspora and Transnationalism, and Civic Engagement

Website: Dr. Kim-Ju's Website

Casey KNIFSEND, Ph.D. (UCLA)

Dr. Casey Knifsend

Office: AMD 351C

Office hours:

E-mail: casey.knifsend@csus.edu

Phone: 916-278-6191

Field: Developmental Psychology

Research Interests: Developmental psychology, Adolescence, Extracurricular involvement, Social identity development and complexity, Intergroup attitudes, cross-ethnic peer relationships, Influence of school and interpersonal contexts on adolescent development

Research Lab Website: Developmental Psychology Lab

Melissa McTERNAN, Ph.D. (UC Davis)

Dr. Melissa McTernan

Office: AMD 353A

Office hours:

E-mail: mcternan@csus.edu

Phone: 916-278-5714

Field: Quantitative Psychology

Research Interests: Longitudinal data analysis, Mixed-effects modeling, Missing data problems, Zero-inflated data and two-part modeling; Substantive Interests: Preventative health, Education outcomes.

Website: Dr. McTernan's Website

Larry MEYERS, Ph.D. (Adelphi University, Post Doctoral Fellowship at University of Texas and Purdue University)

Dr. Larry Meyers

Office: AMD 363A

Office hours: 

E-mail: larrym@csus.edu

Phone: 916-278-6365

Field: Applied and Quantitative Psychology

Research Interests: Multivariate Research and Analysis including Structural Equation Modeling, Test Validation and Development, Psychometrics, Job Analysis, Selection in Employment Contexts, Survey/Inventory Design, History of Psychology

Caio MIGUEL, Ph.D. (Western Michigan University)

Dr. Caio Miguel

Office: AMD 364D

Office hours:

E-mail: miguelc@csus.edu

Phone: 916-278-6813

Field: Applied Behavior Analysis (ABA)

Research Interests: ABA, Verbal Behavior, Stimulus Control/Equivalence, Autism Treatment, Applied Animal Behavior

Research Lab Website: Verbal Behavior Lab

Alexandra MORRISON, Ph.D. (Temple University)

Dr. Alexandra Morrison

Office: AMD 353C

Office hours: 

E-mail:  alexandra.morrison@csus.edu

Phone: 916-278-6892

Field: Cognitive Psychology

Research Interests: Attention, Working Memory, Mind Wandering, Strategy Use in Situations Requiring Attention and Working Memory, Cognitive Training

Website: Dr. Morrison's Website

Research Lab Website: Morrison Research Lab

Becky PENROD, Ph.D. (Univ. of Nevada, Reno)

Dr. Becky Penrod

Office: AMD 361A

Office hours: 

E-mail: penrodb@csus.edu

Phone: 916-278-6457

Field: Applied Behavior Analysis (ABA)

Research Interests: ABA, Pediatric Feeding Disorders, Assessment and Treatment of Problem Behavior, and Behavioral Health

Research Lab Website: Pediatric Behavior Research Lab

Jianjian (J.J.) QIN, Ph.D. (UC Davis)

Dr. JJ Qin

Office: AMD 357B

Office hours:

E-mail: qinj@csus.edu

Phone: 916-278-5606

Field: Cognitive Psychology

Research Interests: Eyewitness Memory and Suggestibility, Emotion/Trauma and Memory, Cognitive Psychology, Psychology and Law, Research Methods and Statistics

Oriel STRICKLAND, Ph.D. (Purdue University)


Dr. Oriel Strickland

On Sabbatical in Spring 2019

Office: AMD 364C

Office hours:

E-mail: ojstrick@csus.edu

Phone: 916-278-5609

Field: Industrial/Organzational Psychology

Research Interests: Performance Appraisal, Leadership, Work Motivation, Personnel Selection, Social Influences on Work Teams

Emily WICKELGREN, Ph.D. (Indiana University)

Dr. Emily Wickelgren

Office: AMD 363D

Office hours:

E-Mail: wickelgren@csus.edu

Phone: 916-278-6871

Field: Sensation/Perception

Research Interests: Pedagogy, Visual Event Perception, Affordances, & Perception/Action, Human Factors

Faculty on Permanent Administrative Assignment

Marya ENDRIGA, Ph.D. (University of Washington)

Dr. Marya Endriga

SSIS Associate Dean for Student and Personnel Success

Lecturers

Lecturer
Location and Office Hours
Contact Information

 Tom Allen,

Office: AMD 357C

Office hours:

E-mail: thomas.allen@csus.edu

Phone: 916-278-2240

Victoria Bovard, M.A.

Office: AMD 355

Office hours:

E-mail: toriac@csus.edu

Phone: 916-278-6856

Kim Carter, Ph.D.

Office: AMD 356

Office hours:

E-mail: kimberly.carter@csus.edu

Phone: 916-278-6962

Kathryn Clifford, M.Ed.

Professor Kathryn Clifford

Office: AMD 551C

Office hours:

E-mail: psyc.clifford@csus.edu

Phone:  916-278-6808

De-Laine Cyrenne, Ph.D.

Dr. De-Laine Cyrenne

Office: AMD 363C

Office hours:

E-mail: de-laine.cyrenne@csus.edu

Phone: 916-278-6552

Manveen Dhindsa, Ph. D.

Office: AMD 551C

Office hours:

E-mail: m.dhindsa@csus.edu

Phone: 916-278-6808

Jeanne Edman, Ph.D.

Office: AMD 363D

Office hours:

E-mail: jeanne.edman@csus.edu

Edward Edsten, M.S.

Office: TAH 3036

Office hours:

E-mail: edsten@csus.edu

Phone: 916-278-7594

JeNell Flanagan, Ph.D.

Office: AMD 356

Office hours:

E-mail: jenellflanagan@csus.edu

Phone: 916-278-6962

Erin Freed, Ph.D

Office: AMD 551C

Office hours:

Email: freed@csus.edu

Phone: 916-278-6808

Tim Gaffney, Ph.D.

Office: AMD 551B

Office hours:

Email: tim.gaffney@csus.edu

Phone: 916-278-6546

Sara Gorchoff, Ph.D.

Sara Gorchoff

 

Office: AMD 357C

Office hours:

Email: gorchoff@csus.edu

Phone: 916-278-2240

Shannon Q. Hurtz, Ph.D.

Dr. Shannon Hurtz

Office: 550B

Office hours:

E-mail: shannon.hurtz@csus.edu

Phone: 916-278-6546

Clinton Kelly, Ph.D.

Office: AMD 363C

Office hours:

Email: clinton.kelly@csus.edu

Phone: 916-278-6552

Jason Lillis, Ph.D.

Lecturer Jason Lillis

Office: AMD 357C

Office hours:

Email: jason.lillis@csus.edu

Phone: 916-278-2240

Cindy Long-Nicholson, M.S.

Office: SLN 4015

Office hours:

E-mail: long-nicholson@csus.edu

Phone: 916-834-1460

Nathaniel Mills, Ph.D.

 Nathaniel Mills

Office:

Office hours:

E-mail: nmills@csus.edu

Phone: 916-278-6808

Meg Patterson, M.S., MFT

Professor Meg Patterson

Office: ALP 233

Office hours:

E-mail: meg.patterson@csus.edu

Phone:

Pu Peng, Ph.D.

Office: AMD 355

Office hours:

E-mail: pu.peng@csus.edu

Phone: 916-278-6856

John Pugliese, Ph.D.

Dr. John Pugliese

 

Office: AMD 363C

Office hours:

E-mail: john.pugliese@csus.edu

Phone: 916-278-6552

Donald Rickgauer, M.A.

 

 

Office: TAH 3036

Office hours:

E-mail: donald.rickgauer@csus.edu

Phone: 916-278-7594

 Kim Roberts, Ph.D.

Dr. Kim Roberts

Office: AMD 355

Office hours:

E-mail: sac52786@csus.edu

Phone: 916-278-6856

Sarah Strand, Ph.D.

Dr. Sarah Strand

Office: AMD 356

Office hours:

E-mail: sstrand@csus.edu

Phone:  916-278-6962

John Tamblyn, Ed.D., M.A.

Office: AMD 551C

Office hours:

E-mail: sac67915@csus.edu

Phone: 916-278-6808

Teri Tanaka, Ph.D.

Office: AMD 551B

Office hours:

E-mail: teri.tanaka@csus.edu

Phone: 916-278-6546

Diane Walsh, M.A., C.P.G

Office: TAH 3036

Office hours:

E-mail: walsh.d@csus.edu

Phone: 916-278-87594

Johnathan Wong,

Office: AMD 363

Office hours: 

Email: johnathan.wong@csus.edu

Phone: