Research & Creative Activity (RCA) Subcommittee


The recipients of the 2017-18 University Awards for Research, Scholarship, and Creative Activity are Dr. Robert Crawford (Early-Career faculty) and Dr. Maureen Smith (Senior Faculty). Congratulations!

Congratulations to the awardees of the 18/19 RCA Faculty Awards!

The Research and Creative Activity Awards Subcommittee is a subcommittee of the Academic Senate’s Faculty Policies Committee. The subcommittee is comprised of elected members from each college, as well as a Faculty Policies Committee liaison, and a member-at-large. The committee meets bi-weekly during each semester.

The purpose of the subcommittee is to aid the Office of Research, Innovation, and Economic Development  in administering three programs:

Additionally, they are charged with supporting faculty research, scholarly, and creative activity on campus and to recommend policy and procedures related to these awards to the Faculty Policies Committee.


RCA Faculty Awards Program

The RCA Faculty Awards Program supports faculty research, scholarly, and creative activity, and faculty contributions to their discipline. All current Unit 3 Faculty are eligible and encouraged to apply. 

University Award for Research, Scholarship, and Creative Activity for Early-Career Faculty

This award (formerly known as the President's Award) honors a Sacramento State faculty member who has made significant contributions over the last five years to their discipline as evidenced by research, scholarly activity, or creative/artistic endeavors.

University Award for Research, Scholarship, and Creative Activity for Senior Faculty

This award (formerly known as the Outstanding Scholarly Achievement Award) recognizes tenured and tenure track faculty who have been at Sacramento State for at least ten academic years and who have, over many years, made significant contributions to a discipline through research, scholarly activity, creative/artistic endeavors, and publications.

2017-18 Subcommittee Membership




Sadaf Ashtari

Business Administration

Information Systems & Business Analytics

James Fox

University Library

Special Collections/University Archives

Katherine McReynolds 

(Vice Chair)

Natural Sciences & Mathematics


Joyce Mikal-Flynn

Health & Human Services


Patricia Morris

Social Sciences & Interdisciplinary Studies


Carlos Nevarez


Doctorate in Educational Leadership

Susan Perez 

(At-large member)

Health & Human Services

Kinesiology and Health Science 

Nancy Sweet 


Arts & Letters


Mahyar Zarghami

Engineering & Computer Science

Electrical & Electronic Engineering

Contact Information

Subcommittee Chair

Dr. Nancy Sweet, Associate Professor of English

Administrative Support

Julie McGinty, Office of Research, Innovation, and Economic Development, (916) 278-4918