News & Information

Awards to recognize best in journalism


Sacramento State’s Center for California Studies and the Sacramento Press Club will sponsor the 17th annual California Journalism Awards luncheon, 10:30 a.m.–2 p.m. Thursday, May 19, at the Capitol Plaza. Participants may RSVP for the luncheon at: The lunch is free for the first 150 people to sign up.

The keynote speaker for the luncheon will be Michael Grunwald of Time Magazine. Also speaking will be George Skelton of the Los Angeles Times.

The California Journalism awards—a cash prize of $500—will be presented to journalists who have published or broadcast a story about California state government or politics. The Katharine Macdonald prize of $300 will be awarded to a student journalist.

The awards are given in four categories:

  • Print Journalism (three categories: John Jacobs Awards for excellence in daily coverage and excellence in special feature or enterprise reporting, and a blog award for excellence in commentary or news maintained on an independent website)
  • Radio Journalism
  • Television Journalism
  • Student Journalism

The awards were established in 1994 to recognize excellence in reporting on California state government and politics.

For more information, contact the Center for California Studies at (916) 278-6906 or visit For media assistance, contact the Sacramento State Public Affairs office at (916) 278-6156.