News & Information

Sac State presents Distinguished Alumni Awards


Printer-friendly version

Preview story: The Sacramento State Alumni Association is proud to announce that eight alumni will be honored with Distinguished Alumni Awards and one honorary alumnus will receive the Order of the Hornet at a ceremony Thursday, April 23, at the Alumni Center.

President Alexander GonzalezPresident Alexander Gonzalez speaks after receiving the Order of the Hornet. (Sacramento State/Steve McKay)
View DAA photo album

The 2015 Distinguished Alumni Award recipients are:

Order of the Hornet:

  • Alexander Gonzalez, president, Sacramento State

Lifetime Achievement Award:

  • Jan Scully (government/journalism ’73), retired Sacramento County district attorney

Distinguished Service Awards:

  • Tami R. Bogert (criminal justice ’93), Sacramento County Superior Court judge; and Scott Yuill (finance ’85), owner, Scott Yuill Insurance and Financial Services
  • Cate Dyer (sociology ’05), founder and CEO, StemExpress
  • Pat Fong Kushida (marketing ’85), president and CEO, California Asian Pacific Chamber of Commerce
  • Jim Gomez (accounting ’71), CEO, California Association of Health Facilities
  • Lee Ritchey (electronic and electrical engineering ’67), founder and CEO, Speeding Edge

Rising Star Award:

  • Philip I. Person (communication studies ’08), litigation associate, Manatt, Phelps and Phillips

The Distinguished Alumni Awards, presented by the University and the Alumni Association since 1972, honor alumni and friends of the University for outstanding professional achievements as well as contributions to the campus and the community.

Tickets are available at

This spring also marks the California State University system’s celebration of its 3 million alumni. CSU graduates are invited to join the online yearbook at and earn a chance to win one of three $10,000 scholarships.

For more information, visit or call (916) 278-6295.