

Friday, October 26, 2018

Dear Colleagues,

The Faculty Senate is pleased to call for nominations for the faculty member who will deliver the **2018-2019 John C. Livingston Distinguished Faculty Lecture**. An invitation to deliver the lecture has long been considered one of the most prestigious awards given to a member of the Sacramento State faculty. The lecture will be delivered Tuesday, February 19 at 3:00 pm in the Redwood Room, University Union.

Professor Livingston is remembered as a teacher, mentor, scholar, colleague, friend and inspiration to a generation of faculty and students. Recipients of this award are recognized *for having transcended their disciplines and in so doing having positively affected the life of the University through their teaching, their service, and their creative and scholarly activities – displaying a consistent and engaging collegiality and a strong commitment to students throughout their career at California State University, Sacramento.*

The lecture traditionally is on a topic chosen by the Livingston Lecturer that is of general interest to the university community. The faculty member will be selected this fall and will deliver the lecture during the spring semester at a convocation held in his or her honor. This award recognizes a sustained and unique contribution to the campus community in providing intellectual leadership and has important significance to the life of this university. This award dates back to 1959 when John C. Livingston, a professor in the government department from 1954 to 1982, gave the first Distinguished Faculty Convocation Address. In 1985 the Faculty Convocation was renamed in Professor Livingston's honor.

Previous Recipients: Past lectures have been presented by Professors Al Cook, Angus Wright, Lee Nichols, Bob Curry, Bob Metcalf, Perry Weddle, Betty Ch'maj, David Covin, Jack Brackmann, John Connor, Bill Dorman, Juanita Barrena, Erwin Kelly, Otis Scott, Scott Farrand, Joe Morrow, John Henry, Dan Decious, Valerie Wheeler, Cristy Jensen, Jackie Donath, Roberto Pomo, Jeff Lustig, Tom Krabacher, Rita Cameron-Wedding, Sue Holl, Mark Stoner, Christine Miller, Edward Lascher, Jennifer Lundmark.

Nominations: Nominees should be faculty members who, over the course of their career at Sacramento State, have personified the dedication to the University and to our students that was demonstrated by Professor Livingston during his life. The nomination letter (or letters) should include a detailed description of the nominee's qualifications and a copy of the nominee's vita. A robust pool of nominees will assist the selection committee in its task of the selection of a worthy recipient of the award.

Nominations are due by Monday, November 26, 2018 by 12 noon and are to be submitted via email to senate.awards@csus.edu. Please contact Kathy Garcia, Senate Analyst, at kathy.garcia@csus.edu or 8-6847, if you have questions.

Ántonia Peigahi, Chair Faculty Senate