

RESEARCH AND CREATIVE ACTIVITY AWARDS SUBCOMMITTEE MINUTES OF THE MEETING OF DECEMBER 13, 2017

Approved: January 31, 2018

CALL TO ORDER:

The Chair called the meeting to order at 11:02 a.m.

ROLL CALL:

Roll was taken.

Voting Members: James Fox, Katherine McReynolds, Joyce Mikal-Flynn, Patricia Morris, Carlos Nevarez, Susan Perez (absent), Nancy Sweet, Mahyar Zarghami

Non-Voting/Ex-Officio Members: William DeGraffenreid, Julian Heather (absent)

GUESTS: Julie McGinty, Office of Research, Innovation, and Economic Development; Shannon Rexin, Office of Research, Innovation, and Economic Development

OPEN FORUM & ANNOUNCEMENTS:

None

APPROVAL OF THE AGENDA: Approved

APPROVAL OF THE MINUTES OF NOVEMBER 29, 2017: Approved

UPDATE ON RCA APPLICATIONS AND REVIEW DAY

105 proposals were submitted to the 2018-19 RCA Faculty Awards Program. There are 83 reviewers registered. Reminder to the committee to attend Review Day on Wednesday, January 17 from 9-12.

DETERMINE FINALISTS FOR UNIVERSITY SENIOR RSCA AWARD

Committee discussed strengths and weaknesses of all applications and selected three finalists to be interviewed by the committee on 2/7/18: Robert Ortbal of the Department of Art, Barbara Carle of the Department of World Languages and Literatures, and Maureen Smith of the Department of Kinesiology and Health Science.

NEXT MEETING: January 31, 2018

ADJOURNMENT: The meeting was adjourned at: 11:42 a.m.