Skip to Main Content

Psychology College of Social Sciences & Interdisciplinary Studies

Support Page Content

MA in Psychology: General Psychology

Students in the General Psychology program can create individual programs in conjunction with the faculty to prepare for doctoral programs and careers in a variety of specialized fields such as:

  • Clinical (Clinically-oriented students in this program will train in clinical research, but will not receive formal clinical skills training or earn licensure).
  • Cognitive
  • Community
  • Cultural
  • Developmental
  • Educational
  • Evolutionary
  • Experimental
  • Neuroscience
  • Quantitative
  • Social Psychology

Students also take graduate courses in research methods, analysis of variance, multiple regression analysis, multivariate analysis, and psychological measurement.

General Psychology Program Catalog Information

General Psychology M.A.

General M.A. students regularly participate in supervisory and experiential coursework beginning in their first semester and continue each semester after that. These students involve themselves in research projects, either as members of research teams or individually under the supervision of a faculty member.

Upon completion, they present their work at a variety of research conferences including the Sacramento Valley Psychological Association's Student Research Conference, Western Psychological Association Research Conference, and other local, regional, and national meetings.

Students also have the opportunity to acquire experience as Teaching Associates (paid instructors of record) or as Instructional Student Assistants (paid) in our undergraduate lower division and lab courses.

Admission Requirements & Application Instructions

General Psychology Faculty

Applicants will be asked to select and rank three faculty from the list below in their application. Please review our application materials to determine which faculty will be taking applicants for Fall 2025.

Name Subdiscipline Contact Information Accepting applications for Fall 2025
Itzel Aceves Azuara, Ph.D. (UC Santa Cruz) Cultural Psychology  itzel.aceves-azuara@csus.edu To be determined
Phillip Akutsu, Ph.D. (UCLA) Clinical Psychology  akutsup@csus.edu To be determined
Lisa Bohon, Ph.D. (UC Riverside) Social/Evolutionary Psychology  bohonlm@csus.edu To be determined
Jeff Calton, Ph.D. (University of Missouri) Behavioral Neuroscience  calton@csus.edu To be determined
Melikşah Demir, Ph.D. (Wayne State University) Developmental Psychology and Happiness  demir@csus.edu To be determined
Erin Ellison, Ph.D. (UC Santa Cruz) Community Psychology  ellison@csus.edu To be determined
Sharon Flicker, Ph.D. (University of New Mexico) Clinical Psychology  flicker@csus.edu To be determined
Sharon Furtak-Nguyen, Ph.D. (Yale University) Behavioral Neuroscience  furtak@csus.edu To be determined
Paulette Garcia Peraza (UC Santa Cruz) Cultural Psychology  garciaperaza@csus.edu To be determined
David Giguere, Ph.D. (Florida Atlantic University) Developmental Psychology  giguere@csus.edu To be determined
Lisa Harrison, Ph.D. (University of Nebraska) Social Psychology  laharrison@csus.edu To be determined
Greg Kim-Ju, Ph.D. (Boston College) Cultural and Community Psychology  kimju@csus.edu To be determined
Casey Knifsend, Ph.D. (UCLA) Developmental and Community Psychology  casey.knifsend@csus.edu To be determined
Alexandra Morrison, Ph.D. (Temple University) Cognitive Psychology - Attention and Working Memory  alexandra.morrison@csus.edu To be determined
Jianjian (J.J.) Qin, Ph.D. (UC Davis) Cognitive Psychology - Eyewitness Memory and Memory Errors  qinj@csus.edu To be determined
Zach Schudson Ph.D. (University of Michigan) Social Psychology  schudson@csus.edu To be determined
Emily Wickelgren, Ph.D. (Indiana University) Cognitive Psychology - Sensation and Perception  wickelgr@csus.edu To be determined
Brittany Young, Ph.D. (UC Santa Cruz) Developmental and Multicultural Psychology  b.young@csus.edu To be determined