Skip to Main Content

Office of Graduate Studies Academic Affairs

Support Page Content

Sac State & CSU Grad Slam Competition

Get Ready for the 4th annual Sac State Grad Slam March 26, 2024!

What is Grad Slam?

Sac State's Grad Slam competition celebrates the exciting research conducted by graduate students. The competition supports their capacity to effectively explain their research in three minutes (or less), in a language appropriate to a non-specialist audience. For some, it helps to develop an "elevator speech" for their research. Participation in Grad Slam showcases communication abilities – an essential skill.

Eligibility: All active master's and doctoral students who are conducting independent research or projects, including independent research projects done for a graduate-level class, are eligible to participate in Grad Slam competitions at all levels. Entrants must be current graduate students at the time of the competition (i.e. enrolled in the Spring 2024 semester).

  • Group projects or group research is not eligible for submission and/or presentation in Grad Slam competitions. All projects and/or research must be conducted independently by the student applicant.
  • At this time, Fall 2023 graduates are not eligible to participate in Grad Slam 2024. However, we are awaiting clarification from the CSU regarding if Fall 2023 graduates will be permitted to participate in Grad Slam 2024. If Fall 2023 graduates are granted permission to participate in Grad Slam, we will announce that information as soon as possible.

Prizes!

  • 1st place: TBA
  • 2nd place: TBA
  • 3rd place: TBA
  • Honorable Mention: TBA

Note: Monetary awards from University competitions are disbursed through the Financial Aid Office as an award.

Want more information? Register for a Virtual Information Session!

  • Session 1: Thursday, October 12, 2023 (12:00pm - 1:00pm)
  • Session 2: Tuesday, November 14, 2023 (5:00pm - 6:00pm)
  • Session 3: Monday, January 29, 2024 (5:00pm - 6:00pm)
  • Session 4: Thursday, February 8, 2024 (12:00pm - 1:00pm)
    • All Information Sessions will be hosted virtually on Zoom

Click here to register for a Grad Slam 2024 Information Session

Ready to Compete? Applications are Now Open until February 16, 2024!

Click here to apply for Sac State Grad Slam 2024

Mark Your Calendars! Important Grad Slam Dates:

Sac State Grad Slam Application Registration:

Semi-finalists Notifications Announced:

  • February 21, 2024

Semi-finalists Deadline to Submit 3-minute Video:

  • February 26, 2024

Semi-finalist Notified of Status:

  • March 1, 2024

Sac State Grad Slam 2023 Competition:

  • March 26, 2024

Top Presenters from Sac State Grad Slam ([1] Non-STEM & [1] STEM) Prepares for CSU Grad Slam:

  • April 2023

CSU Grad Slam 2024:

  • May 3, 2024

Sac State Grad Slam 2024 Competition Planning Committee

 
Members College Email
Bridget Parsh, Chair College of Health & Human Services parshb@csus.edu
Chevelle Newsome, Dean Office of Graduate Studies cnewsome@csus.edu
Angela Clark-Oates College of Arts & Letters clark-oates@csus.edu
Carmen Stitt College of Arts & Letters stitt@csus.edu
TBD College of Business Administration  
Yanira Madrigal-Garcia College of Education y.madrigal-garcia@csus.edu
Alessandra McMorris College of Continuing Education mcmorrisa@csus.edu
TBD College of Engineering & Computer Science  
Farshid Zabihian College of Engineering & Computer Science farshid.zabihian@csus.edu
Yvette Farmer College of Health & Human Services drfarmer@csus.edu
Carel Mountain College of Health & Human Services carel.mountain@csus.edu
Rachel Hill College of Health & Human Services r.hill@csus.edu
Scott Thompson College of Health & Human Services irwin.thompson@csus.edu
Matt Krauel College of Natural Sciences & Mathematics krauel@csus.edu
Mical Shilts College of Social Sciences & Interdisciplinary Studies shiltsm@csus.edu
TBD College of Social Sciences & Interdisciplinary Studies  
TBD University Library  
Staff: Cindy Garcia Office of Graduate Studies; Graduate Student Enrollment & Experience Graduate Student gradengagement@csus.edu
Staff: Natalie Galvan Graduate Diversity Program; McNair Scholars & Graduate Diversity Program Coordinator natalie.e.galvan@csus.edu
Staff: Diana Duran Office of Graduate Studies; Administrative Support Coordinator durand@csus.edu

4th Annual CSU Grad Slam Competition hosted by CSU Long Beach

csu-grad-slam-2024.png

3rd Annual CSU Grad Slam hosted by San Diego State University

https://grad.sdsu.edu/csu-grad-slam

Sac State Grad Slam 2023 Competition

Congratulations to our top four 2023 presenters from!!

  • First Place: Haley Myers Dillon (Ed.D., Educational Leadership & Policy Studies); finalist in the 3rd annual CSU Grad Slam
  • Second Place: George Harris IV (MA in Political Science)
  • Third Place: Olivia Sinclair (MS in Biological Science, Ecology, Evolution, and Conservation)
  • Honorable Mention: Valerie Lanich (MA in Education, Behavioral Sciences and Gender Equity Studies)

Missed Sac State Grad Slam 2023? Watch the event recording!

Click here to watch Sac State Grad Slam 2023 held on Tuesday, March 28, 2023