Skip to Main Content

Office of Graduate Studies Academic Affairs

Support Page Content

Sac State & CSU Grad Slam Competition

Get Ready for Grad Slam 2023!

Can Your Research Make an Impact in 3 Minutes or Less?

Sac State's Grad Slam competition celebrates the exciting research conducted by graduate students. The competition supports their capacity to effectively explain their research in three minutes (or less), in a language appropriate to a non-specialist audience. For some, it helps to develop an "elevator speech" for their research. Participation in Grad Slam showcases communication abilities – an essential skill.

Eligibility: All active master's and doctoral students who are conducting independent research or projects, including independent research projects done for a graduate-level class, are eligible to participate in Grad Slam competitions at all levels. Entrants must be current graduate students at the time of the competition (i.e. enrolled in the Spring 2023 semester).

What more information? Attend an Info Session!

Register for an Information Session Here!

  • Session 1: October 19, 2022 (12:00 - 1:00pm)
  • Session 2: November 3, 2022 (4:30 - 5:30pm)
  • Session 3: November 30, 2022 (4:00 - 5:00pm) [this session will be held in-person]
  • Session 4: January 30, 2023 (4:30 - 5:30pm)
  • Can't attend any of these sessions? Let us know in the registration form.

Ready to Get Started? Submit Your Application:

Apply Here! (must include a 30-second video with application)

*Sac State Grad Slam Applications are open October 20, 2022 - February 20, 2023

Mark Your Calendars! Important Grad Slam Dates:

Sac State Grad Slam Application Registration:

  • October 20, 2022 - February 20, 2023

Public Speaking Workshops: Must attend at least one date per session

  • Session A: February 7, 2023 (12:15 - 1:15pm) OR February 8, 2023 (2:00 - 3:00pm)
  • Session B (speech delivery and recording): February 14, 2023 (12:00 - 1:00pm) OR February 15, 2023 (12:00 - 1:00pm)
  • Additional Resources: Check out these University Library practice spaces

Semi-finalists Notifications Announced:

  • February 25, 2023

Semi-finalists Deadline to Submit 3-minute Video:

  • March 3, 2023

Semi-finalist Notified of Status:

  • March 8, 2023

Sac State Grad Slam 2023 Competition:

  • March 28, 2023

Sac State Grad Slam Winner Prepares for CSU Grad Slam:

  • April 2023

CSU Grad Slam 2023:

  • May 5, 2023

Sac State Grad Slam 2023 Competition Planning Committee

 
Members College Email
Bridget Parsh, Chair College of Health & Human Services parshb@csus.edu
Chevelle Newsome, Dean Office of Graduate Studies cnewsome@csus.edu
Rebekkah Mulholland College of Arts & Letters rebekkah.mulholland@csus.edu
Min Li College of Business Administration limin@csus.edu
Alessandra McMorris College of Continuing Education mcmorrisa@csus.edu
Preetham Kumar College of Engineering & Computer Science sac42453@csus.edu
Farshid Zabihian College of Engineering & Computer Science farshid.zabihian@csus.edu
Yvette Farmer College of Health & Human Services drfarmer@csus.edu
Bronwyn Fields College of Health & Human Services bronwyn.fields@csus.edu
Scott Thompson College of Health & Human Services irwin.thompson@csus.edu
Amelia Vankeuren College of Natural Sciences & Mathematics vankeuren@csus.edu
Jacob Fisher College of Social Sciences & Interdisciplinary Studies jlfisher@csus.edu
Mical Shilts College of Social Sciences & Interdisciplinary Studies shiltsm@csus.edu
Mary-Kate Finnegan University Library m.finnegan@csus.edu
Staff: Kaitlyn Ehrmantrout Office of Graduate Studies k.ehrmantrout@csus.edu
Staff: Brie Kline Office of Graduate Studies b.kline@csus.edu

Campus Hosting CSU Grad Slam Competition

Link coming soon!

Sac State Grand Slam 2022 Competition Winner

https://www.csus.edu/college/education/spotlights/csu-grad-slam.html