California State University, Sacramento

Based on real user feedback and statistics, no longer supports Microsoft’s Internet Explorer browser. Please upgrade your browser to improve your experience.

Skip to Main Content

University Transportation & Parking Services California State University, Sacramento

Support Page Content

Transportation Advisory Committee (TAC)

Next Meeting: September, 2022. Specifics TBD.

TAC Mission

The Transportation Advisory Committee (TAC) was established by the University on April 11, 1991. The University Transportation Advisory Committee is to be administrative, with actions in the form of recommendations to the President or his designee.

The committee will assume tasks previously undertaken by the Public Safety Committee regarding campus transportation issues. Their work will involve parking, campus and vicinity traffic management, the campus shuttle service, alternative transportation activities including bicycles, car and van pooling, and coordination with transit agencies.

The University Transportation Advisory Committee shall be the principal campus body responsible for recommending to the President or his designee policy on all aspects of campus transportation, including:

  • Review and critique existing transportation programs;
  • Explore and recommend new programs and modification or elimination of existing ones;
  • Recommend priorities for use of parking fines and forfeitures revenue;

Aid in the development of policy proposals, fee schedules and other matters related to the conduct of a comprehensive transportation management program.

TAC Charge

Meeting Times

The TAC will strive to meet twice per semester; usually February and April in the spring and September and November in the fall. Meetings are held at a date and time when the greatest amount of TAC members are available to meet in the UTAPS conference room, unless otherwise noted.

For meeting agenda and minutes, contact Freddy Orozco at (916) 278-5242.

TAC Membership

Appointments to the committee are made by the Vice President for Administration. Membership for faculty, staff and community members shall be for a period of three (3) years, staggered to insure continuity. Students shall be appointed annually. The Vice President for Administration shall have the option of reappointing members to additional terms. Recommendations for membership from campus constituencies should consider the backgrounds of the persons selected, with a focus on transportation and environmental disciplines and on balancing members between those who routinely use public transportation or other alternative modes and those who drive to campus. The committee will select a Chair. The campus Facility Planning Director, Parking Administrator and Police Chief will serve as Ex Officio members. The composition of the committee will be as follows:

  • Two (2) Faculty Members recommended by the Faculty Senate, 3-year term.
  • Two (2) Staff Members (campus-wide solicitation) announced in the Staff Bulletin, 3-year term.
  • Two (2) Students recommended by the Associated Students, Inc. President, 1-year term (academic year).
  • One (1) Community Member, 3-year term.
  • One (1) Police Chief – Ex Officio or designee, indefinite term.
  • One (1) Facilities Planning Director – Ex Officio or designee, indefinite term.
  • One (1) Parking Administrator – Ex Officio or designee, indefinite term.
  • One (1) Transportation Engineering Specialist – Ex Officio, indefinite term.
  • One (1) ADA Community Member, 3-year term.

TAC Members


Khan, Ghazan
(916) 278-3886
Civil Engineering Dept. Associate Professor
Transportation Engineer Specialist, Ex Officio
Indefinite term, Appointed to 2nd three-year term as TAC Chair in Oct. 2018


Abadi, Masoud
(916) 278-6982
Faculty Representative
(Department of Civil Engineering)
1st three (3) year term: 9/2021 - 6/2022

Dierking, Jeff (or designee)
(916) 278-2604
Parking Administrator, Ex Officio
UTAPS Director
Indefinite term

Lynch, Diana
(916) 278-7259
Budget Planning & Administration
Staff Representative
1st three (3) year term: 9/2019 - 9/2022

Madison Jr., Chet
(916) 278-6000
Campus Police Chief
Police Director, Ex Officio
Indefinite term

Mahedy, Nicholas
Student Representative
1 year term: (2021/22 Academic Year)

Ramirez, Kim
(916) 278-4846
CCE, Program Manager
Staff Representative
2nd three (3) year term: 10/2021 - 5/2024

Takahashi, Victor (or designee)
(916) 278-7612
Facilities Planning Director, Ex Officio
Director Facilities Planning & Construction Services, Facilities Services
Indefinite term

ADA Community Representative
1st three (3) year Term

Community Representative
1st three (3) year term

Faculty Representative
(Email Address)
1st three (3) year term

Student Representative
(Email Address)
1 year term: (2021/22 Academic Year)

Staff to the Committe (Non-Voting)

Lucas, Tony
(916) 278-5241
Business & Administrative Services AVP

Neri, Josh
(916) 278-2985
Parking Events & Services Coordinator - UTAPS

Orozco, Freddy
(916) 278-5242
Transportation and Parking Operations Coordinator- UTAPS