Skip to Main Content

Office of Graduate Studies Academic Affairs

Support Page Content

Graduate Student Events & Opportunities

Protected Writing Time

Sacramento State's Protected Writing Time is a series of workshops designed to help students with the writing progress leading to the completion of a prospectus, thesis, project, dissertation, or other academic writing/professional development. We encourage graduate students to sign-up for this workshop series to help with dedicate time to their writing. There is no cost, units, or grading for this series!

Workshops include group meetings, individual accountability measures, and at least three hours of writing each session. All sessions are held on an online platform via Canvas.

Click here to apply for Spring 2024 Protected Writing Time!

Protected Writing Time Meeting Dates (Fall 2023):

  • Required: September 9 & 30, October 14 & 28, November 4 & 18, and December 2
  • Optional: September 23, October 7 & 21, November 11

Meeting Times: 9:00am to 12:00pm

Protected Writing Time Meeting Dates (Spring 2024):

  • Required: February 3 & 17, March 2 & 30, and April 13 & 27
  • Optional: February 10 & 24, March 9, and April 6 & 20

Meeting Times: 9:00am to 12:00pm

Graduate Scholar & Professional Development Opportunities

The Office of Graduate Studies is dedicated to assisting our students in expanding their academic professional development. As part of that mission, we are providing information on funding opportunities that are open to graduate-level studies. Funding opportunities are posted on a rolling basis, please check our website regularly for updated information:

2023 - 2024 Opportunities


Graduate Student Advisory Council (GSAC)

General Information:

The Graduate Student Advisory Council (GSAC) represents university graduate students and serves as the student advisory group to the Dean and ASI Director of Graduate Studies. GSAC's function is to encourage involvement with the University and the advancement of graduate and professional studies. GSAC will also serve as a conduit for information between the university graduate administration, the ASI Director, and graduate students, as well as, assisting the Dean in advocating and support graduate education on campus. GSAC will be compromised of one representative from each academic degree program and meet twice a semester to discuss relevant opportunities, policies, and other information.

In April, each academic department selects graduate students to represent their programs during the next academic year. The department will have its own method of appointing or electing its representative to the GSAC. The Dean and ASI Director will traditionally hold an orientation for the incoming GSAC representatives before the end of each spring semester. If you have questions about serving as your program's GSAC representative, contact your Graduate Coordinator.

Responsibilities of GSAC Members:

  • Attend the orientation session held in the spring term prior to service on the group (when applicable);
  • Participate in regularly scheduled GSAC committee meetings;
  • Assist the ASI Director in providing a voice of graduate students to the university faculty and administration;
  • Serve as an advisory body to the Dean on the advancement of graduate and professional studies;
  • Represent the interests of the graduate and professional students in their department;
  • Inform students in their department of all activities, deadlines, and information presented at the GSAC meetings; and
  • Notify the ASI Director, the department's Graduate Coordinator and/or Graduate Dean's Office if they are unable to complete the term.

Meetings: Fall 2023 & Spring 2024

The scheduled meeting time for the Graduate Student Advisory Council is on the third Thursday of the month in the evenings from 5:00pm - 6:00pm. All GSAC meetings are held on Zoom.

  • Meetings are held at least twice a semester.

Interested in Joining GSAC? Contact OGS at gradengagement@csus.edu

Events:

Program Representatives: 2023 - 2024

Representing Member Email
ASI Director of Graduate Studies Hisham Hussain asigraddirector@csus.edu
Accountancy (MS) Vacant TBA
Anthropology Andrea Lemus Noyola alemusnoyola@csus.edu
Applied Behavior Analysis Vacant TBA
Art Vacant TBA
Audiology Doctorate (Au.D.) Vacant TBA
Biological Sciences (MA) Vacant TBA 
Biological Sciences (MS) Taylor Akers taylorfayakers@csus.edu
Biotechnology Vacant TBA
Business Administration (MBA) Jasreet Barn jasreetbarn@csus.edu
Business Administration (Executive - EMBA) Amera Frazee amerafrazee2@csus.edu
Business Administration (International - IMBA) Vacant TBA
Business Analytics Vacant TBA
Chemistry Vacant TBA
Child & Adolescent Development Marisha Kashyap marishakashyap@csus.edu
Civil Engineering Vacant TBA 
Composition, Rhetoric, & Professional Writing Vacant TBA
Communication Sciences & Disorders Vacant TBA 
Communication Studies Vacant TBA 
Computer Engineering Vacant TBA 
Computer Science Harshith Sai Veeraiah harshithveeraiah@csus.edu
Counseling Vacant TBA 
Criminal Justice Susan Juarez sjuarez3@csus.edu
Economics Vacant TBA 
Education Doctorate (Ed.D.) Asianya Jones asianyajones@csus.edu
Educational Leadership & Policy Studies (MA) Heidi Torres heiditorres@csus.edu
Electrical Engineering Sanjana Halavarthi Jagadeesha sanjanahalvarthijag@csus.edu
English (Literature & Creative Writing) Vacant TBA
Finance (MS) Vacant TBA
Gender & Equity Studies in Education Vacant TBA
Geology Vacant TBA 
History Vacant TBA 
Humanities Vacant TBA 
Industrial-Organizational Psychology Vacant TBA
Kinesiology Vacant TBA 
Language & Literacy Vacant TBA
Mathematics Vacant TBA 
Mechanical Engineering Jessica Refe jrefe2@csus.edu
Music Vacant TBA 
Multicultural Education Nora Zade nszade@csus.edu
Nursing (MSN) Vacant TBA 
Nutrition and Food Arjudeep Kaur arjudeepkaur2@csus.edu
Physical Therapy Doctorate (DPT) Vacant TBA 
Political Science Veronica Mozqueda vmozqueda@csus.edu  
Psychology Rebekah Williams rebekahwilliams@csus.edu
Public Health Kara Reyes karareyes@csus.edu
Public History Vacant TBA
Public Policy & Administration Tahmirah Mecca tahmirahmecca@csus.edu
Recreation, Parks & Tourism Administration Vacant TBA  
School Psychology (Ed.S.) Vacant TBA
Social Work (MSW) Teryn Heckers theckers@csus.edu
Sociology Vacant TBA  
Software Engineering Vacant TBA
Spanish Vacant TBA 
Special Education (Teaching) Vacant TBA  
Special Major Vacant TBA  
Teacher Education (MAT) Vacant TBA  
Teaching English to Speakers of Other Languages (TESOL) Vacant TBA  
Universal Design for E-learning Vacant TBA

Graduate Studies Updates

Fall 2023

Fall 2022