California State University, Sacramento

Based on real user feedback and statistics, no longer supports Microsoft’s Internet Explorer browser. Please upgrade your browser to improve your experience.

Skip to Main Content

News and Top Stories

Story Content

Professional Activities, October-December 2023


Dr. Tyler Argüello (Social Work) received the Social Worker of the Year award for 2023 at the Annual Conference of the National Association of Social Workers, California Chapter. Dr. Argüello was nominated by his peers for his accomplishments, multi-level benefits to the public, students, and interprofessional colleagues, as well as contributions to the profession. In particular, he was recognized for exemplary and meritorious social work practice, inclusive of critical pedagogy, impactful leadership, public service, scholarship of teaching, and for ongoing community-embedded clinical work. The Social Worker of the Year is one of four awards given each year to leaders and community members who have made exceptional contributions to the profession and to honor the ways they are improving lives, transforming systems, and living social work values and ethics every day. The Social Worker of the Year award, in particular, recognizes a social worker in California who consistently demonstrates the six core values of the NASW Code of Ethics (service, social justice, dignity and worth of the person, importance of human relationships, integrity, and competence), broad professional social work experience and demonstrated leadership, NASW experience, diverse and multicultural experience, impact on social policy, advocacy for clients, and exceptional practice.

Dr. Shuying Li (Music) has been honored with the prestigious 2023 Copland House Residency Award, a significant accolade in the realm of American music composition. This recognition is part of the charter programs at the Copland House, a renowned creative center for American music located at Aaron Copland’s National Historic Landmark home near New York City. Dr. Li, representing California, was selected from a competitive pool of 215 composers across 36 states, the District of Columbia, and three countries. This achievement marks her second acknowledgment by Copland House, following her tenure as a 2020 CULTIVATE Emerging Composer Fellow. The Residency Award provides an invaluable opportunity for creative development, offering a two- to six-week stay at Rock Hill, Copland's beloved home. This program supports composers in their artistic process, providing not only an all-expenses-paid retreat but also opening doors to various post-residency career advancement opportunities.

Mary Mackey (English, Emerita) received a Best Feature Film Screenplay nomination for The Stand In at the City of Angels Women’s Film Festival in Los Angeles. The script of The Stand In is an adaptation of her comic novel The Stand In (published by Kensington Books under her pen name “Kate Clemens"). Co-written with her script-writing partner Renee De Palma, the film script, which Mackey describes as fast-paced and hilarious, pokes fun at the Hollywood pecking order as it follows the comic misadventures of two women who decide to exchange lives: a Hollywood super star named Jayne and an overworked college composition teacher named Mary Lynn, who is so badly paid that she has to moonlight as a checkout clerk. What could go wrong with this swap? Try “just about everything.” 

Dr. Edidiong Mendie (Criminal Justice) has a new textbook publication Gender-Based Violence, Law, and African Society, co-authored with Dr. Abiodun Raufu and Dr. Omolade Olomola. It addresses different dimensions of gender-based violence in Africa, such as the challenges of patriarchy, the limits of the law, and the cultural acceptance of violence against women in the private sphere.

Eliza Morris (Physics and Astronomy) was an invited panelist and speaker at the National Diversity in STEM (NDiSTEM) conference in Oregon, Oct. 26-28. The conference, which was organized by the Society for Advancement of Chicanos/Hispanics & Native Americans in Science (SACNAS), is the largest multidisciplinary and multicultural STEM diversity event in the country. Morris presented during the session “Supporting HSIs by Advancing Research in Education” on her NSF-funded project “Comparing student success, team dynamics, and cost in three different active learning formats in undergraduate physics education,” an ongoing Sac State collaboration involving faculty from both Physics and Astronomy and the College of Education.

Dr. Jian-Zhong “Joe” Zhou (University Library) was invited to be a visiting scholar by the University of Jinan and Shandong Normal University. In July-August, Zhou made a presentation on breadth requirements of undergraduate education in the CSU (Sac State GE requirement) and UC (Berkeley breadth requirement for Haas Business School) in Jinan, the sister city of Sacramento. During Zhou’s time as a visiting scholar in Jinan, he discussed with various Chinese faculty, administrators, and the Chinese university's international affairs office about the sharp post-COVID decline in Chinese universities' student and faculty exchange with American education institutions.

More Professional Activities

Share This Story

url copied!

About News and Communications Staff

Sacramento State’s News and Communications team writes and shares stories about the University, its students, faculty, and alumni, revealing the accomplishments, achievements and milestones that characterize its standing as an educational leader and an important community center. The department’s writers, editors and public relations personnel look across the broad spectrum of the campus and the people who thrive here to support the University’s mission.

Media Resources

Faculty/Staff Resources

Looking for a Faculty Expert?

Contact University Communications
(916) 217-8366