California State University, Sacramento

Skip to Main Content

Sacramento State News

  • CSU honors two Sac State faculty for leadership, innovation


    B. Dana Kivel (left) and Kelly McDonald are winners of the CSU’s highest award given to faculty. (Sacramento State file)

    University Communications

    Two prominent Sacramento State professors, B. Dana Kivel and Kelly McDonald, are among 25 faculty across the CSU to receive a 2020-21 California State University Faculty Innovation & Leadership Award, the CSU’s top faculty award.

    The award honors faculty from campuses throughout the CSU for accomplishments that bring key educational missions into clear focus. 

    Chosen by the CSU FILA Selection Committee from more than 120 nominees, Kivel and McDonald represent an ideal, faculty who “demonstrate extraordinary leadership to advance student success,” the CSU states. Sacramento State is one of just two campuses with two honorees.

    Kivel is the outgoing director of Sac State’s Center for Community Engagement and a professor of Parks, Recreation, and Tourism Administration. McDonald is a professor of Biology and director of the University’s Center for Science and Math Success. Both professors have built durable, important legacies at Sac State.

    Read more about these honored faculty members:


Visit The Newsroom

Tell Us Your Stories

University Communications shares news and information about the University. We invite you to be our partners in telling the Sac State story. University Communications depends on students, faculty, and staff to alert us about campus events, projects, studies, and accomplishments.